Speaking out for People with
 Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities


VOR's 2024 Annual Meeting

We are proud to present our 2024 Annual Meeting. The event will be held on Zoom on Sunday, June 23 from:
3 pm - 6 pm ET / 2 pm - 5 pm CT / 1 pm - 4 pm MT / Noon - 3 pm PT

The meeting is open to all. There is no charge for this event, but we would ask that folks register so that we have a sense of who might attend. Neither donations nor registration are required. We just want you. Nonetheless, if you would like to register or make a donation, please click here.

In addition to our open meeting of the Board of Directors and our two guest speakers, we will feature our annual Reports from the States, where our members share about the state of their state's services for individuals with I/DD and autism. If you would like to share information about your state, please mail a pdf or Word Document to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Celebrating the 25th Anniversary of Olmstead

June 22, 2024 marks the 25th Anniversary of the Supreme Court's landmark decision in Olmstead v. L.C. VOR is proud to have helped support Choice in this decision, having submitted an amicus brief that defended the rights of those with the most severe I/DD to receive care in ICF settings as the most integrated environment appropriate to their needs.
 
The Department of Health and Human Services, the Administration for Community Living, and the Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice are presenting a celebration of their own on June 20th from 2 - 4 pm (Eastern). We urge our members to register for the event, to view it as it streams live, to see where their interpretations of Olmstead might differ from ours. To register, go to: https://www.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_HyA2zv8BSwuBCXGChGmJZg#/registration
 
We also urge our members to read the Olmstead decision (VOR's amicus is cited on p.605) and to review other Olmstead materials at: https://www.vor.net/get-help/more-resources/item/olmstead-resources-2

VOR's March Networking Meeting

March 25, 2024 - 5 pm Eastern, 4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 1 pm Pacific - on Zoom
This month's topic: "How can we better communicate and connect with others in-state"
Click below for more information and to view a video of the meeting

VOR's 2023 Legislative Initiative

Improving the Safety for People with I/DD and Autism byCapitol
* Preventing and Reporting Incidents of Abuse and Neglect
* Promoting the Use of Cameras in Common Areas
* Holding Protection and Advocacy Agencies Accountable
* Supporting our Direct Support Professionals
 

VOR's Legislative Initiative Advocates are meeting with Congressional Staff during the month of May

Please click here to download the 2023 Legislative Materials to share with your elected officials and their staff.